

NJDOT Safety Summit Agenda

Date: Tuesday, October 11, 2022

Time: 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Location: WebEx Webinar

Moderated by: Richard Storm, HDR

Registration: https://bit.ly/NJDOTSafetySummit

Time	Topic	
Session 1: Opening Session		
10:00 – 10:05 a.m.	Welcome Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti, Commissioner, NJDOT Robert Clark, Division Administrator New Jersey, FHWA	
10:05 – 10:10 a.m.	Introductory Remarks Michael Russo, Assistant Commissioner Planning, Multimodal, and Grant Administration, NJDOT Tomi-Anne Raue, Interim Director, New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety	
10:10 – 10:20 a.m.	Keynote: New Jersey Safety Data into Action Dr. Allison Curry, Senior Scientist & Director of Epidemiology, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia	
10:20 – 10:35 a.m.	Open Interactive Group Exercise "How do we get closer to Zero?"	
	Moderator: Dan LiSanti, Manager, Bureau of Safety, Bicycle and Pedestrian Programs (BSBPP), NJDOT	
Session 2: Coordinated Safety Initiatives		
10:35 – 11:15 a.m.	Our Vision: Zero Fatalities by 2050 Jeevanjot Singh, Section Chief, BSBPP, NJDOT	
	Local Plans to Action Alan Huff, South Jersey Planning Transportation Organization	
	Building a Culture of Safety Krishna Murthy, EZ Ride	
	Campaign for Safety Education Debra Kagan, NJ Bike and Walk Coalition	
	Opportunities to Fund Local Safety Projects Veronica Murphy, Local Aid Resource Center	
11:15 – 11:35 a.m.	Discussion Panel and Interactive Group Exercise	
	Moderator: Jeevanjot Singh, Section Chief, BSBPP, NJDOT	



NJ 2020 Strategic Highway Safety Plan

Session 3: What Are We Doing Now and What Else Can Be Done?		
11:35 – 12:00 p.m.	Emphasis Area Team Update	
	1. Khalid Shaikh, Project Manager, BSBPP, NJDOT	
	 Layla Fryc, New Jersey Turnpike Authority, Data Team Leader 	
	3. Tracy Noble, AAA, Driver Behavior Team Leader	
	4. Veronica Murphy, NJDOT, Equity Team Leader	
	 Jennifer Marandino, South Jersey Planning Transportation Organization, Intersections Action Leader 	
	6. Vince Cardone, Monmouth County, Lane Departure Team Leader	
	 Elise Bremer-Nei, NJDOT, Pedestrians & Bicyclists Team Leader 	
	 Kevin Murphy, Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission, Other Vulnerable Road Users Team Leader 	
12:00 – 12:20 p.m.	Discussion Panel and Interactive Group Exercise "What will you do to get us closer to Zero?"	
	Moderator: Khalid Shaikh, Project Manager, BSBPP, NJDOT	
Session 4: Closing Remarks and Call to Action		
12:20 – 12:30 p.m.	Closing Remarks Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti, Commissioner, NJDOT Michael Russo, Assistant Commissioner, Planning, Multimodal, and Grant Administration, NJDOT	